Wimbledon Legends: Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg

by on June 17, 2009
in Record Holders

Wimbledon Legends: Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg

To start with, the best of the best-undisputed king of the tennis world, Pete Sampras, holds seven Wimbledon singles titles in his bag of trophies. He remained the King of Wimbledon in the 90s as he remained the titleholder from1993 to 1995. 1996 was the year when Richard Krajicek became the Wimbledon Champion by beating MaliVai Washington, whereas Sampras lost to him in the quarterfinal. Pete Sampras again carried on his victorious journey by winning four consecutive Wimbledon trophies from 1997-2000.

Next to follow is the tennis legend Bjorn Borg who won this esteemed trophy for five consecutive years. He remained champion from 1976 to 1980. He would have won Wimbledon in 1981, but lost to John McEnroe and remained runner up in the contest. Despite Pete Sampras being the King of the tennis world, Bjorn is the Emperor. It is due to the fact that not only he won the five consecutive Wimbledon titles but also won the French Open doubles event three times in a row along with three consecutive successes at Wimbledon which the tennis guru’s stated as “the most difficult double in tennis.” Sampras never won any French Open titles while Federer, with his latest victory at the French Open, has become the second after Borg to hold both the titles.


One Response to “Wimbledon Legends: Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg”
  1. MairaS says:

    Thanks! Keep visiting!

Share Your Thoughts