Aces Records in One Match – Men’s Singles

by on July 3, 2010
in Record Holders

Isner and Mahut, Aces Records in One Match - Men’s Singles

Tennis fans surely know what an ace is. For those of us who do not know, an ace is when during a game, a point is scored after a player serves the ball correctly and so strongly that the opponent doesn’t even have a chance to touch it. Not all the tennis players have the potential, the art of making a point through an ace. It requires correct positioning and timing. When our favorite player hits aces during the game, he not only makes it interesting, but also a fun and treat for us to watch.

Many players have set records for aces. The top ten record holders from 1991 to June 23, 2010 have Ivo Karlović on the top with 78 aces that he scored against Radek Štepanek in a five set semifinal of the Davis Cup. He holds the second record, as well, with 55 aces against Lleyton Hewitt in a five-set first round match of the French Open. J. Johansson achieved the third spot in the aces ranking when he hit 51 aces against Andre Agassi in a 4-set match of the fourth round at the Australian Open. Again it’s Ivo Karlovic who stands fourth with 51 aces hit against Daniele Bracciali in a five-set Wimbledon match. Roger Federer is ranked fifth with 50 aces against Andy Roddick in a 5-set Wimbledon final.

The list goes on with Richard Krajicek the sixth with 49 aces against Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Gustavo Kuerton the seventh with 47 aces against Daniel Nestor, Ivo Karlovic the eighth with 46 aces against Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Goran Ivanisević the ninth with 46 aces against Magnus Norman and Mark Philippoussis is the tenth with 46 aces against Andre Agassi.

Ivanović’s record was broken last Thursday, on June 24 by John Isner and Nicolas Mahut with 112 and 103 aces respectively.

Winners of most French Open doubles titles

Winners of most French Open doubles titles, Max Decugis

In a limited area of the Garros court, four players, two on each side of the net, move back and forth and sit around waiting for their turn to play. Wait a minute. Four players in one court? Yes! We are talking about the Men’s Doubles title which is always a treat to watch, as no matter how much the Garros produces friction, the game goes on really quickly. The four men manage to run around the court and work out with their partners in developing the best coordination to play the shots.

Like all other Grand Slams, Garros also provide a platform for doubles and always an interesting watch. Many records have been set in the doubles title of Garros in the past which includes the male tennis stars who won the most doubles titles and those who won the consecutive double titles as well. So here is a quick flashback!

Era before 1968

The 14 titles of men’s double before 1968 belonged to Max Decugis who with his excellent play made this record and got massive fame. Along with him, Roy Emerson claimed six doubles titles before 1968.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Paul Haarhuis, Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Leander Paes won three doubles titles.

Consecutive win of doubles titles

Along with this, there are players who have set the record of consecutive wins of doubles titles in Garros. The era could be divided into the following:

Era before 1968

Max Decugis won 13 consecutive doubles titles from year 1902 to 1914. Till this date, no one in the tennis world has reached this record. Along with him, again it’s Roy Emerson who won 6 titles of doubles between 1960 and 1965.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Gene Mayer won twice with Hank Pfister and Sandy Mayor in 1978 and 1979. Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Daniel Vacek won consecutively twice in 1996 and 1997 respectively. Last in Jonas Bjorkman and Max Mirnyi won two consecutive doubles titles in the years 2005 and 2006.

As the Garros event takes place every year, there is an opportunity for young lads like Nadal to break one of these records or at least level them.

A big applause for the legendary players!