Grand Slams

by on October 28, 2009
in Grandslams

Grand Slams, Wimbledon, US open Tennis, Australian open tennis, French open tennis

The four Grand Slam tennis tournaments are considered the most prestigious tournaments in the world. They are held sequentially and annually as follows:

  • The Australian Open (Tennis Australia)
  • The French Open (the French Tennis Federation)
  • The Wimbledon Open (the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club and Lawn Tennis Association), and
  • The US Open (the United States Tennis Association)

The associations listed above, as well as the International Tennis Federation (ITF), are responsible for organizing these events.

The ITF also organizes the Davis Cup, Federation Cup and Hopman Cup. These events have the largest prize money. The next level of tournaments, the Masters 1000 (men) and Premier events (women) allow the champions to achieve double the number of ranking points. There are an astounding 128 players in the singles draw which is more than any other professional tennis event.

This event collectively includes 32 seeded players, other players ranked in the world’s top 100 and wild card players who are invited to play in the event. The Men’s Grand Slam tournaments have a best of five set matches throughout.

Grand Slam tournaments are the only tour events to have mixed doubles. The Grand Slam tournaments are seen as the start of a particular season such as the Australian Open. These events each have their own individual peculiarities.