Top ten female tennis players of Wimbledon

by on December 10, 2010
in Grand Slam: Wimbledon

Martina, Navratilova, Top ten female tennis players of Wimbledon

Generally, Wimbledon tournament matches are played after the well-known hard court Australian Open Championship and the clay court French Open Championship tournaments. Wimbledon is one of the major tennis tournament played in the year. Wimbledon tournament bears with itself classiness and the noble patronage. The grass court is the perfect spot where the Wimbledon tournament takes place each year. Wimbledon is a principal game in tennis and looked upon with great expectation by every single tennis fan. The game has amassed a lot of interest and fame. Wimbledon is one tennis tournament which has got a huge fan group throughout the world. It is not an astonishing fact that the Champions of Wimbledon benefit from a unique attention among the tennis supporters in link with all other form of tournaments in tennis. Wimbledon Championships are measured as the perfect win in the game of tennis and hence every single tennis player will struggle to get it in their lifetime. It is a dream for many tennis aspirants which have been achieved by few talented and greatest female tennis players who top the list of the top ten champions who have proved to be masters in tennis by showcasing to the world some of the stunning performances of all time. These famous female tennis players have come to be known as the peak performers of all time with their record feat that has swept the audience completely. The top ten best female tennis players in Wimbledon Champions are listed below:

  1. Martina Navratilova
  2. Helen Wills Moody
  3. Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
  4. Steffi Graf
  5. Blanche Bingley
  6. Billie Jean King
  7. Suzanne Lenglen
  8. Charlotte Cooper Sterry
  9. Lottie Dod
  10. Venus Williams

These famous female tennis players are certainly the masters of the tennis world. Each of them has their own approach and control on the game and it is hard to overlook the fantastic games these dazzlers have played so far.

Master’s Series in Tennis

by on March 31, 2009
in ATP Tour

Master’s Series in Tennis

The tennis tournament played at the end of each year to determine the best of the lot from the top ranked 8 players is called the Masters Tennis Series. In this series, the top 8 players in the calendar year are divided into 2 groups of 4 players each. There takes place 3 round robin matches in which each player from both the groups plays against all the other 3 players. The top two players from each of the group go onto the semi-finals and then the finals.

The Masters Tennis tournament is a third generation evolution of the original format which was initiated in 1970. In the beginning, it was simply called the Masters tournament. Though the same format of matches between the top ranked tennis players was followed in the initial stages, it did not have any effect on the world rankings. But as time progressed, the format changed and the rankings of the players got a boost or a downfall depending on their performance in this tournament too. There are further changes going to be made in the 2009 edition of the Masters Tennis tournament with the name being changed to ATP World Tour Finals. From 2009-12 it will be played at the O2 in London.