Tennis Tournaments: Mercedes Cup, UNICEF Open and Swedish Open

by on December 29, 2012
in Tennis tournaments

Mercedes Tennis Cup

Tennis Tournaments: Mercedes Cup
The Mercedes Cup is held in Germany. It’s a part of ATP World Tour 250 series, played on clay court. It has been played since 1916. The tournament is famous because number of top tennis legends have played in the tournament. Between 1970 and 1989, it was a part of Grand Prix Tennis circuit. The winner of the tournament gets a Mercedes car in addition to 450,000 pounds in prize money. Although many players have had amazing performances during the course of this tournament, Thomas Muster from Australia has been the most famous one. He won two titles in a row in 1995 and 1996.
Tennis Tournaments: Unicef Open
UNICEF Open is sponsored by UNICEF as a part of its initiative to make life better for struggling and deprived children. The tournament is held in Netherlands each year and is a part of WTA and ATP tour. It is played on grass and the prize money is $398,250. However, the tournament offers smaller prize for women which is $220,000.
Tennis Tournaments: Swedish Open
Swedish Open is held every year in Sweden. It is a part of ATP World Tour. The tournament started back in 1948. Famous players in its history include Eric Surgess, Llie Nastase, Mats Wilander, and Bjorn Borg. Eric Won three consecutive titles in its first three years. It was also a women’s tournament until the sale of Nordea Nordic Light Open. When the sale happened, the women’s games were moved to Bastad, where Collector Swedish Open Women have introduced a tournament of their own. The prize money for Swedish Open is $450,000.

Tennis Tournaments: Nice Open Tournament and Internazionali BNL d’Italia

Nice Open Tennis

Nice Open Tournament
This tournament was known by the name Phillips Open until 1995 when its name was changed to nice open tournament. Each year the tournament is held in Nice, France and all the professional tennis players of the world take part in it and perform their best. The prize for the winner is €450,000 in this tournament tennis is played in clay courts.  Before France the tournament was played in Austria and then in 2009 it was France that was made the host for this tournament. The game is held usually in May of the year a week before tennis tournament French Open starts. The champion of Nice open tournament is Richard Gasquet who belongs to France. This tournament was not held between the years 1996 -2009.

The list of previous Men Champions is as follows:

Juan Aguilera

Martín Jaite (Twice)

Gabriel Markus

Marc-Kevin Goellner

Alberto Berasategui

Marc Rosset

Richard Gasquet

Nicolás Almagro

Internazionali BNL d’Italia

This tennis tournament is held in Rome Italy, and is considered the most prestigious event after French open.  The game is played in a red clay court. It was first held in Milan and now each year it is held in Rome Italy. The prize for the ATP tour winner is €2,227,500 and for the WTA tour winner is US$2,000,000. For the first time this tournament was held in 1930 in Milan and it stayed there until 1934 and a long break was taken from 1936 to 1949 during which this tournament or event was not held. The highest number of wins is led by Rafeal Nadal and from the women side most of the tournaments were won by Chris Evert. Internazionali BNL D’ italia is its sponsored name whereas the actual name is Italian open.

The list of previous men champions is as follows:

Thomas Muster (Four Times)

Emilio Sánchez

Jim Courier (Twice)

Pete Sampras

Àlex Corretja

Marcelo Ríos

Gustavo Kuerten

Magnus Norman

Juan Carlos Ferrero

Andre Agassi

Félix Mantilla

Carlos Moyà

Rafael Nadal (Five Times)

Novak Djokovic (Twice)

The list of previous women Champions is as follows:

Monica Seles (Twice)

Gabriela Sabatini (Twice)

Conchita Martínez(Four Times)

Mary Pierce

Martina Hingis

Venus Williams

Jelena Dokić

Serena Williams

Kim Clijsters

Amélie Mauresmo (Twice)

Martina Hingis

Jelena Janković

Serbia Jelena Janković

Dinara Safina

María José Martínez Sánchez

Maria Sharapova

Tennis Tournaments: Aegon Championships, Estoril Open and Gerry Webber Open

Aegon Tennis

Aegon Championships:

AEGON championship is a sponsored name for Queen’s Club Championship. This tournament is basically a male tennis tournament in which male professional tennis players from all around the world participate. From 1970 to 1989 it was a part of grand tennis prix circuit. It is held in June after French Open. This tournament is held on a grass court. The prize money for this tournament is £640,000 (€750,000). Andy Roddick has won this tournament highest number of times being the best for AEGON championships and hard to beat sort of a player on the top in this tournament. This tournament is held in the British Land i.e. London at Queen’s club.

The list of the previous winners is as follows:

Ivan Lendi

Stefen Edburg

Wayne Ferriera

Micheal Stich

Todd Martin

Pete Sampras (Twice)

Boris Becker

Mark Philipiossouis

Scott Draper

Lleyton Hewt (Four Times)

Andy Roddick (Four Times)

Rafeal Nadal

Andy Murray (Twice)

Estoril Open Tennis Tournament:

Estoril open is a tennis tournament held in Jamor Protugal, this tournament was played by men tennis players in 1990 where as the women played this tournament in the year 1998. This tournament marks the dominance of Male players of Argentina and Spain. It is basically ATP and WTA tournament with the  prize money differing for both prize for the ATP tour winner is €450,000 whereas the prize for the WTA tour winner is   US$220,000. The women side of Estoril open tournament is more diverse. The dominance of Spanish players has waned in the past few years. Since 2001 only two spanish players were their. The venue of this tournament is Estoril court central.

The list of previous Men winners is as follows:

Emilio Sánchez

Sergi Bruguera

Carlos Costa (Twice)

Andriy Medvedev

Thomas Muster (Twice)

Àlex Corretja

Alberto Berasategui

Albert Costa

Carlos Moyà

Juan Carlos Ferrero

David Nalbandian (Twice)

Nikolay Davydenko

Juan Ignacio Chela

Gastón Gaudio

Novak Djokovic

Roger Federer

Albert Montañés (Twice)

Juan Martín del Potro

The list of women champions is as follows:

Barbara Schwartz

Katarina Srebotnik

Anke Huber

Ángeles Montolio

Magüi Serna (Twice)

Émilie Loit

Lucie Šafářová

Zheng Jie

Gréta Arn

Maria Kirilenko

Yanina Wickmayer

Anastasija Sevastova

Anabel Medina Garrigues

Gerry Webber Open Tennis Tournament:

This tournament was first held in the year 1993 and it continues to happen till date. It is held in Germany every year. This tournament is held outdoors in a grass court. Roger Federer has won this tournament highest number of times. The prize for the winner of this tournament is €750,000. In 2007, 2008 and in 2011 Roger Federer withdrew from this tournament and this withdrawal turned out to be negative for his relationship with Webber owner of this tournament. Ralf Weber runs this tournament, which is held each year in North Rhine, Germany.

The list of previous winners is as follows:

Henri Leconte

Michael Stich

Marc Rosset

Nicklas Kulti

Nicolas Kiefer

David Prinosil

Thomas Johansson

Yevgeny Kafelnikov (Thrice)

Tomáš Berdych

Roger Federer (Five Times)

Tommy Haas

Lleyton Hewitt

Philipp Kohlschreiber