Top ten male tennis players of French Open-All time

Top ten male tennis players of French Open-All time, René Lacoste

French Open Championship is one of the prestigious tournaments in the world. It is held in Paris, France. The French Open Tennis has got lot of popularity and is followed by a large number of the crowd throughout the world. It has been very well proved that winning a French Championship tournament will greatly influence the tennis players’ carrier as it is considered to be a tough game in comparison to all other tournaments in tennis. French Open tournaments are always played on the clay court which calls for an extra edge over the game as it is not an easy affair to win over the tournament in a clay court. The court lowers the ball and increases the bouncing capacity of the ball thereby making it an absolutely swift game. Since the ball bounces with great speed the player must be really good to spot the turn of the ball and should be prepared for any surprise moves. Overall, French Open tournaments are considered to be one tournament that demands a great deal of physical activities. The players need to have an absolute control over themselves and the ground and needs to be amazingly fast to acheive victory on the championship ground. The top ten men in French Open Championship are listed below:

  1. Max Decugis
  2. Björn Borg
  3. Henri Cochet
  4. Rafael Nadal
  5. Paul Aymé
  6. André Vacherot
  7. Maurice Germot
  8. Gustavo Kuerten
  9. René Lacoste
  10. Ivan Lendl

This bunch of amazing male players have proved their mettle in clay court games  and in turn have carved their way  to the Championship positions that they hold today. The commitment and the kind of zeal and passion they showed towards the game have brought them to be in the list of top ten championships of all times in the tough game of French Open Single’s Championship.

Grand Slam: Wimbledon

Grand Slam: Wimbledon

Think of the game Lawn Tennis and Wimbledon is the first name that comes to your mind. The most esteemed tournament was first held in 1877 in the London suburb of Wimbledon at the All England Club. The game is played on grass and that’s from where the game lawn tennis got its name. The game sees men’s and ladies singles and doubles matches along with mixed doubles. You also get to enjoy boys and girls singles and girls doubles in the tournament.

1877 witnessed the only Gentlemen’s singles event won by Spencer Gore followed by the addition of Ladies singles in 1884, won by Maud Watson. The following years saw the addition of other events like Gentleman’s doubles, Mixed doubles etc. In 2009, Roger Federer grabbed his 6th Wimbledon and 15th Grand Slam title. Venus Williams was defeated by her sister Sarena Williams for the 3rd time. Wimbledon 2010 will be held from 21st June – 4th July. Each year sees a change for the benefit of players and audience. To prevent any match delays due to rain, the Centre Court has recently been fitted with a retractable roof. In 1979, the roof of the court was raised one meter to make space for 1,088 seats.

Warm up tournaments are held in Birmingham, Eastbourne and the Netherlands. The main principal court is surrounded by four other courts, hence the name Center Court. You have to experience it to believe the tradition of eating cream and strawberries, drinking with royal patronage and Pimms sprinters at Wimbledon. Wimbledon is incomplete without them – British twins Ernest and William Renshaw, Doherty brothers, Laurie and Reggie, Arthur Gore and Fred Perry, Jean Borota, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet and Rene Lacoste, Pete Sampras and Goran Ivanisevic and many more.