Wimbledon 2015 Trophy Winners

Novak Djokovic

In Wimbledon Championships, 2015 final Novak Djokovic defeated Roger Federer 7-6. 6-7. 6-4, 6-3 to claim his third Wimbledon title and ninth Grand Slam title overall. By lifting the title, Djokovic has tied the number of Wimbledon trophies won with his coach Boris Becker.

 Serena Williams beat Garbine Muguruza 6-4, 6-4 in ladies’ singles final match to win her third Grand Slam title of the year.

 Jean-Julyien Rojer and Horia Tecau lifted the trophy in the gentlemen’s doubles category, after beating Jamie Murray and John Peers 7-5, 6-4, 6-4 in the final.

Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza

 In the category of ladies’ doubles at Wimbledon 2015, Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza defeated Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina 6-7, 7-6, 7-5 in the final match.

 Mixed doubles category was won by Leander Paes and Martina Hingis, who defeated Timea Babos and Alexander Peya 6-1, 6-1 to lift their second Grand Slam trophy of the year.

 Boys’ singles category of Wimbledon Championships 2015 was won by Reilly Opelka, who defeated Mikael Ymer 7-6, 6-4 in the match for the title.

 Sumit Nagal and Ly Hoang Nam defeated Reilly Opelke and Akira Santillan 7-6, 6-4 and lifted the trophy in boys’ doubles competition of Wimbledon 2015.

 When it comes to girls’ competitions, Sofya Zhuk won the singles category by defeating Anna Blinkova 7-5, 6-4.

 Dalma Galfi and Fanny Stollar won girls’ doubles trophy, after winning against Vera Lapko and Tereza Mihalikova 6-3, 6-2 in the final match.

 Gentlemen’s invitation doubles of Wimbledon 2015 was won by Goran Ivanisevic and Ivan Ljubicic, who won against Wayne Ferreira and Sebastian Grosjean 6-3, 1-6, 10-5 in the final.

 Jacco Eltingh and Paul Haarhuis defeated Guy Forget and Cedric Pioline 6-4, 6-4 in the final of senior gentlemen’s invitation doubles.

 Ladies’ invitation doubles were won by Magdalena Maleeva and Rennae Stubbs, who beat Martina Navratilova and Selima Sfar 3-6, 7-5, 10-8 in the final match.

In the wheelchair events, Gustavo Fernandez and Nicolas Peifer defeated Michael Jeremiasz and Gordon Reid 7-5, 5-7, 6-2 in the final match of men’s doubles of Wimbledon championships 2015.

Wheelchair ladies’ doubles were won by Jordanne Whiley and Yui Kamiji, who defeated Jiske Griffioen and Aniek Van Koot 6-2, 5-7, 6-3.

Winners of most French Open doubles titles

Winners of most French Open doubles titles, Max Decugis

In a limited area of the Garros court, four players, two on each side of the net, move back and forth and sit around waiting for their turn to play. Wait a minute. Four players in one court? Yes! We are talking about the Men’s Doubles title which is always a treat to watch, as no matter how much the Garros produces friction, the game goes on really quickly. The four men manage to run around the court and work out with their partners in developing the best coordination to play the shots.

Like all other Grand Slams, Garros also provide a platform for doubles and always an interesting watch. Many records have been set in the doubles title of Garros in the past which includes the male tennis stars who won the most doubles titles and those who won the consecutive double titles as well. So here is a quick flashback!

Era before 1968

The 14 titles of men’s double before 1968 belonged to Max Decugis who with his excellent play made this record and got massive fame. Along with him, Roy Emerson claimed six doubles titles before 1968.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Paul Haarhuis, Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Leander Paes won three doubles titles.

Consecutive win of doubles titles

Along with this, there are players who have set the record of consecutive wins of doubles titles in Garros. The era could be divided into the following:

Era before 1968

Max Decugis won 13 consecutive doubles titles from year 1902 to 1914. Till this date, no one in the tennis world has reached this record. Along with him, again it’s Roy Emerson who won 6 titles of doubles between 1960 and 1965.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Gene Mayer won twice with Hank Pfister and Sandy Mayor in 1978 and 1979. Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Daniel Vacek won consecutively twice in 1996 and 1997 respectively. Last in Jonas Bjorkman and Max Mirnyi won two consecutive doubles titles in the years 2005 and 2006.

As the Garros event takes place every year, there is an opportunity for young lads like Nadal to break one of these records or at least level them.

A big applause for the legendary players!