Famous Tennis Player Mark Edmondson

Mark Edmondson

Former Australian tennis player Mark Edmondson was born on 24th of June, 1954 in New South Wales and is remembered for his remarkable win in the Australian Open in 1976 while being ranked at the position of 212th in the ATP rankings. He is known to be the lowest ranked player to win a grand slam tournament after the ranking system of the ATP was introduced. He is also till date the only Australian player to have won the Australian Open men’s single title. The player was more successful in the men’s doubles category matches as his career spans over 6 singles titles and 34 doubles titles. He was ranked at the World’s No.15 on 17th May, 1982.

Edmondson record of the men’s singles and doubles game in the Australian Open reads as being the Champion and winner of the 1976 singles champion and the winner of doubles championship in 1980 and 1981 paired with Kim Warwick, in 1983 with Paul McNamee and in 1984 along with partner Sherwood Stewart. He was also the semifinalist in the singles match in 1981 and the finalist of the doubles event in 1985. Edmondson also won the doubles championship of the French Open in 1985 paired with Kim Warwick along with being the finalists of the doubles finals in 1983 and 1986. In Wimbledon, Edmondson reached the semi finals in 1982 in the men’s singles event and was the finalist in the men’s doubles round in 1980. He served as a member of the ATP board of directors from 1980 to 1984, and his name was inducted in the Australian Tennis Hall of Fame in 2007.

Top ten male double tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

Top ten male double tennis players with the most Australian Open titles, Bob Bryan and mike Bryan

Tennis is an extremely versatile game due to the range of events it arranges every year. The tennis double tournaments are always looked forward to with enthusiasm by tennis fans. The doubles tournament are always very fast and exciting. Many single players also participate in the doubles championship and hold the grand slam titles as well. 

Like all the Grand Slams and other tennis tournaments, the Australian Open also entertains its fans every year by arranging the double tennis tournament. Due to the new surface in the Australian Open, Plexicushion Prestige, the consistency and speed of the game has increased which makes the tennis double matches much faster and more interesting. In year 2010, famous male tennis players Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan won the double tennis tournament for the second consecutive year. The famous Brian Brothers have been pretty consistent with their wins in the double championships. 

The top ten male double tennis players with most Australian Open titles list is:

1)      Adrian Quist & John Bromwich

2)      Rod Laver & Robert Mark

3)      Fabrice Santoro & Michael Llodra

4)      Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan

5)      Mark Edmondson & Kim Warwick

6)      D.P. Turnbull & Adrian Quist

7)      John Bromwich & Adrian Quist

8)      Bob Hewitt & Fred Stolle

9)      Rick Leach and Jim Pugh

10)   John Hawkes & Gerald Patterson

As you go through the list, you will notice one name dominating. Adrian Quist has been the one man who is leading the Australian Open doubles even now. Let’s see if the Bryan brothers make it to Quist’s record.