French Open winners and runner-ups (female)-From 1969-1960

French Open winners and runner-ups (female)-From 1969-1960

The French Open for women was initially reserved to members only. After the championship opened to international competitors, it was named as French International Championships, but before the open era. In this era, Helen Wills Moody won the record four French Open titles in respective years 1928, 1929, 1930 and 1932.The record for most consecutive titles of this era is three and is help by Wills Moody (1928-1930) and Hilde Krahwinkel Sperling (1935-1937).

It was in the Open Era of the French Open where the professional tennis players were allowed and Chris Evert set the record for most titles (7) in 1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985 and 1986.  

The era of 1969-1960 in women French Open tennis tournaments had many different tennis players winning this title but two famous female tennis player names which were repeatedly seen winning and as a runner-up were Margaret Smith and Lesley Turner. The list of female winners and runner-ups of French Open tennis championship during 1969-1960 is as follow:

Winners and runner-up of 1969

  • Margaret Smith Court
  • Ann Jones

Winners and runner-up of 1968

  • Nancy Richey
  • Ann Jones

Winners and runner-up of 1967

  • Francoise Durr
  • Lesley Turner

Winners and runner-up of 1966

  • Ann Haydon Jones
  • Nancy Richey

Winners and runner-up of 1965

  • Lesley Turner
  • Margaret Smith

Winners and runner-up of 1964

  • Margaret Smith
  • French Open runner-up (female)-1964: Maria Bueno

Winners and runner-up of 1963

  • Lesley Turner
  • French Open runner-up (female)-1963: Ann Jones

Winners and runner-up of 1962

  • Margaret Smith
  • Lesley Turner

Winners and runner-up of 1961

  • Ann Haydon
  • Yola Ramirez

Winners and runner-up of 1960

  • Darlene R. Hard
  • Yola Ramirez

Top ten female tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

Martina Hingis, Top ten female tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

Australian Open is the first Grand Slam of the year and the players are judged pretty much for their performance in this slam. The tennis fans use the results to predict the future for every tennis player in the calender year. Australian Open offers a very exciting start of the year with indoor beautiful courts. The crowd cheers for not only Australian but other players as well, making the Australian summer much more overwhelming for every tennis fan.

A three-set tennis game, particularly for women, has been offering plenty of excitement as the game is fast and ends usually in a victory after two sets. From clay’s slower-paced games to hard court play, famous female tennis players have been casting spells with their magical play. The former female champion of the Australian Open title is Serena Williams, who also won the doubles championship with her sister Venus Williams in the same year for the second consecutive year as well. With the Bryan brothers and Williams sisters winning the doubles for second consecutive year, they were the second siblings to set this record.

The list of the ten female tennis players with most Australian Open titles is:

1)      Margaret Smith Court

2)      Nancye Wynne Bolton

3)      Steffi Graf

4)      Evonne Goolagong-Cawley

5)      Thelma Coyne Long

6)      Martina Hingis

7)      Monica Seles

8)      Serena Williams

9)      Jennifer Capriati

10)   Joan Hartigan Bathurst

Among these ten top ten female tennis players with the most Australian Open titles, greatest tennis player Margaret Smith Court secured 7 Australian Open titles and still enjoys this record. Who could possibly break this record?