Popular Tennis Player MaliVai Washington

MaliVai Washington

MaliVai Washington, a former certified player from the United States was born on June 20, 1969, in Glen Cove, New York. He was able to make to Wimbledon, in the Men’s Singles final, in 1996. Washington began playing tennis, at age 5, with his father William who taught this game to his other siblings also. Washington was greatly motivated by his parents, one of the reasons being that when his father, William was the assistant dean at the State University of New York; he trained the poor children how to play tennis on the new courts of the university. He was granted a scholarship to the University of Michigan, when he was 18 and ranked No.1 in US, before the initiation of his expert career in 1989. In 1990, Washington was given the title of ‘ATP Rookie of the Year’. In October 1991, he was ranked among the Top 50 and maintained that for the next six years.

Washington represented United States from 1994 to 1997, in three Davis Cup ties and in Atlanta, Georgia, at the 1996 Olympic Games, where he made to the doubles with Agassi. He injured his left knee, in February 1997, during a duty on Davis Cup against Brazil and had to have it operated. The surgery was carried out on 30 April, in Jacksonville, Florida, and before retiring in November 1999, he continued to play two more Grand Slams. Washington was conferred with the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year award for 2009, on March 27, 2010, in Miami, Florida, during the Sony Ericsson Open.

Wimbledon Legends: Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg

by on June 17, 2009
in Record Holders

Wimbledon Legends: Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg

To start with, the best of the best-undisputed king of the tennis world, Pete Sampras, holds seven Wimbledon singles titles in his bag of trophies. He remained the King of Wimbledon in the 90s as he remained the titleholder from1993 to 1995. 1996 was the year when Richard Krajicek became the Wimbledon Champion by beating MaliVai Washington, whereas Sampras lost to him in the quarterfinal. Pete Sampras again carried on his victorious journey by winning four consecutive Wimbledon trophies from 1997-2000.

Next to follow is the tennis legend Bjorn Borg who won this esteemed trophy for five consecutive years. He remained champion from 1976 to 1980. He would have won Wimbledon in 1981, but lost to John McEnroe and remained runner up in the contest. Despite Pete Sampras being the King of the tennis world, Bjorn is the Emperor. It is due to the fact that not only he won the five consecutive Wimbledon titles but also won the French Open doubles event three times in a row along with three consecutive successes at Wimbledon which the tennis guru’s stated as “the most difficult double in tennis.” Sampras never won any French Open titles while Federer, with his latest victory at the French Open, has become the second after Borg to hold both the titles.