Australian Open winners and runner-ups (male)- From 1980-1989

Pat Cash, Australian Open winners and runner-ups male, From 1980-1989

The Australian Open Tennis has been a center stage for many records over the time by different famous tennis players. The youngest player to have won Australian Open was Donald Young who was just 15 years and 191 days. Many Australian tennis players made their way to Australian Open but not everyone claimed the title. After Pat Cash who won the Australian Open title in 1987, it was Lleyton Hewitt was the first Australian tennis player to claim the title. Who ruled the era of 1980-1989 of Australian Open, here is the list:

Australian Open Tennis- 1980

  • Australian Open winner (male): Brian Teacher
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Kim Warwick

Australian Open Tennis- 1981

  • Australian Open winner (male):  Johan Kriek
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Steve Denton

Australian Open Tennis- 1982

  • Australian Open winner (male): Johan Kriek
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Steve Denton

Australian Open Tennis-1983 

  • Australian Open winner (male): Mats Wilander
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Ivan lendl

Australian Open Tennis- 1984

  • Australian Open winner (male): Mats Wilander
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Kevin Curren

Australian Open Tennis-1985

  • Australian Open winner (male): Stefan Edberg
  • Australian Open winner (male): Mats Wilander

Australian Open  Tennis wasn’t played in 1986

Australian Open Tennis-1987

  • Australian Open winner (male): Stefan Edberg
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Pat Cash

Australian Open Tennis-1988

  • Australian Open winner (male): Mats Wilander
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Pat Cash

Australian Open Tennis- 1989

  • Australian Open winner (male): Ivan Lendl
  • Australian Open runner-up (male): Miloslav Mecir

Facts and information about the 2005 Australian Open Tennis

Facts and information about the 2005 Australian Open, Marat Safin, Lleyton Hewitt

Australian Open 2005 was special because the Australian super star tennis player Lleyton Hewitt made it into the finals and the two time runner-up, Marat Safin of Russia finally won the Australian Open final. It was in year 2004 where Safin defeated Agassi in a thrilling semi-final, later to play Federer in the final.

The year 2005 in the Australian Open tournament brought some very interesting facts and records which were not parts of tennis world previously. Here is a sneak peek into the information and facts about the 2005 Australian Open:

1)      One of the best female tennis player Serena Williams came strong in the 2005 Australian Open and won the title by defeating Davenport.

2)      Donald Young became the youngest tennis player to win the Australian Grand Slam title in the junior event. He was just 15 years and 19 days old.

3)      Samantha Stosur and Scott Draper won the mixed doubles title of the 2005 Australian Open.

4)      In the 2005 Australian Open women singles title, famous Indian tennis player Sania Mirza became the only Indian woman to reach the third round of this Grand Slam.

5)      Patty Schnyder defeated Dementieva. Along with her, another two seeded players Petrova and Anastasia Myskina were also bowed out.

6)      Russian tennis player Marat Safin gave away the first set so easily in the 2005 Australian Open men singles title final, but came back brilliantly later to claim it.

7)      After Pat Cash, who reached the Australian Open finals in 1987, it was the Australian tennis player Lleyton Hewitt who made his way into the final of Australian Open 2005.

Aces Records in One Match – Men’s Singles

by on July 3, 2010
in Record Holders

Isner and Mahut, Aces Records in One Match - Men’s Singles

Tennis fans surely know what an ace is. For those of us who do not know, an ace is when during a game, a point is scored after a player serves the ball correctly and so strongly that the opponent doesn’t even have a chance to touch it. Not all the tennis players have the potential, the art of making a point through an ace. It requires correct positioning and timing. When our favorite player hits aces during the game, he not only makes it interesting, but also a fun and treat for us to watch.

Many players have set records for aces. The top ten record holders from 1991 to June 23, 2010 have Ivo Karlović on the top with 78 aces that he scored against Radek Štepanek in a five set semifinal of the Davis Cup. He holds the second record, as well, with 55 aces against Lleyton Hewitt in a five-set first round match of the French Open. J. Johansson achieved the third spot in the aces ranking when he hit 51 aces against Andre Agassi in a 4-set match of the fourth round at the Australian Open. Again it’s Ivo Karlovic who stands fourth with 51 aces hit against Daniele Bracciali in a five-set Wimbledon match. Roger Federer is ranked fifth with 50 aces against Andy Roddick in a 5-set Wimbledon final.

The list goes on with Richard Krajicek the sixth with 49 aces against Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Gustavo Kuerton the seventh with 47 aces against Daniel Nestor, Ivo Karlovic the eighth with 46 aces against Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Goran Ivanisević the ninth with 46 aces against Magnus Norman and Mark Philippoussis is the tenth with 46 aces against Andre Agassi.

Ivanović’s record was broken last Thursday, on June 24 by John Isner and Nicolas Mahut with 112 and 103 aces respectively.

Famous male tennis player: Lleyton Hewitt

Famous male tennis player: Lleyton Hewitt

Famous male tennis player Lleyton Hewitt is an Australian tennis player who is currently ranked at number 67 in the ATP rankings and has achieved the feat of being number one in world tennis. In 2001, Lleyton Hewitt was the youngest ever player to have achieved the top spot in tennis at 20 years old. He has two singles Grand Slams and one doubles Grand Slams in his kitty. He won the U.S. Open in 2001 and Wimbledon in 2002 and in doubles event, he won 2000 U.S. Open. In 2001 and 2002, he won back to back ATP Masters titles. In 2005, Tennis Magazine ranked him of 34th of 40 greatest tennis players since 1965. In year 2003, Australian tennis player Hewitt was defending the Wimbledon title but eventually lost to Ivo Karlovic in the first round which made him the first defending player in Wimbledon in open era to lose in the first round. In 2004, Lleyton Hewitt lost to every Grand Slam’s eventual champion which is a record in tennis history. Since then, Hewitt never could make a strong come back due to his injuries.

Lleyton Hewitt is very famous for his competitiveness and has won his matches based on skilled footwork, consistency and fitness. Hewitt plays a defensive baseliner game with counter punching. Hewitt generally likes to be back at the baseline in rallies and only approaches the net to attend a drop shot or short reply from an opponent. In 2004, one commentator said that Hewitt was more difficult to “ace” in comparison to Agassi because he has more return shots in play.