Top ten male tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

Federer, Agassi, Top ten male tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

The famous Melbourne Park in Australia arranges the Australian Open event every year in the closing weeks of January. Since 1988, the Australian Open has been played on hard courts. One of the most prominent features of Australian Open is the retractable roof in the two main courts of the Hisense Arena and Rod Laver Arena. The Australian open has been a stage to greatest tennis players who have set records in this grand slam. Not every tennis player enjoys success on hard court, especially players who are masters of the clay surface. Sampras, famous for numerous records, wasn’t able to show his convincing skills on the hard court of Australian Open which definitely showed his limitation. However American Agassi and Swiss Federer with their 4 Australian Open titles depicted their excellent grip on hard court as well. 

The top ten best male tennis players with the most Australian Open titles are as follows:

1)      Kenneth Robert Rosewall

2)      Roy Stanley Emerson

3)      Mats Wilander

4)      Andre Agassi

5)      Roger Federer

6)      Rafael Nadal

7)      Rod Laver

8)      Stefan Edberg

9)      Jim Courier

10)   Ivan Lendl

These best tennis players have been successful in winning the most titles in the Australian Open.  Among these stars, Roy Emerson is leading with his record of six Australian Open titles, which is still to be conquered by second-leading tennis star Roger Federer with four Australian Open titles. Stefan Edberg and Jim Courier were famous for their hard court performances and managed to win the Australian grand slam too. However, Roy is the only name that has been successfully ruled the Australian Open championship. 

Grand Slam: The Australian Open

Grand Slam: The Australian Open

The first of the four Grand Slam tennis events, the Australian Open, is played during the month of January, usually at the Melbourne Park, Australia. This is the time that the kings and queens of tennis, such as Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova, and Venus and Serena Williams, showcase their skills to an admiring Australian public.

The Australian Open was originally contested on grass in 1905. The grass surface remained unchanged until 1987 when the surface was replaced with a hard court surface for tennis.

Matts Wilander is the only man to have ever won the event on both the grass and the hard court surfaces. Many courts makes up the Australian Open venue but the two main courts, the Rod Laver Arena and the Hisense Arena, are reserved for the high interest matches featuring the higher ranked tennis players. Both these courts have a retractable roof which can be closed to protect the players and the surface from rain or extreme heat.

The Australian Open comprises of a variety of competitions which make up the championship. These include the Men’s and Women’s singles, Men’s and Women’s doubles, the Mixed doubles and numerous junior events.

The Australian Open Tennis Tournament

by on April 1, 2009
in Grandslams


The Australian Open Tennis Tournament

One of the four Grand Slams to be held every year, the Australian Open, is held at Melbourne Park where the top tennis players from round the world compete with each other. The Australian Open tennis tournament is the first of the Grand Slams to be held in a calendar year. It is generally played every year in January in Melbourne Park where the likes of Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova and the Williams sisters come out to play. The Australian Open tennis tournament was first played in 1905 and it has completed a 100 years of its existence. Up to 1987, over a period of 82 years, the Australian Open was played on grass courts. The revised format of the tournament saw the surface being changed to hard courts in 1988. There are a variety of competitions which are held at the championship. These include Men’s singles, Women’s singles, Men’s doubles, Women’s doubles and finally Mixed doubles, apart from the junior’s singles and doubles. 

Mats Wilander holds the distinction of being the only tennis player to win the tournament on both types of surface. The two primary courts where all the main tennis matches are played are the Rod Laver Arena and the Hisense Arena. They are the first tennis stadiums in the world which have retractable roofs which can be shut down and opened according to the weather. This tournament has seen a lot of high-quality tennis over the past few years with the main two contenders being Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer in the men’s tourney.