Great Australian Tennis Player Fred Stolle

Fred Stolle

Former Australian tennis player, Frederick (Fred) Sydney Stolle was born on 8th of October, 1938 in Hornsby, New South Wales, Australia. He started playing as a junior player in his amateur trip in 1958; however it wasn’t until 1967 when he turned into a pro and bagged in 2 men singles titles and 13 doubles titles. He is the father of Sandon Stolle, former Davis Cup player of Australia. He is also known in history as being the only male tennis player to have lost the initial five grand slam singles finals.

Ultimately Stolle did win two Grand slam titles being the French Championship in 1965 and the US Championship in 1966; however Stolle failed to win any Australian or Wimbledon championships ever in his career, although he has been a finalist in the Australian Open in 1964 and 1965 and in the Wimbledon in 1963, 1964 and 1965.  Stolle have won ten Men’s Doubles titles along with compatriots Roy Emerson 4 times, Ken Rosewall 2 times and Bob Hewitt 4 times. Stolle has also bagged in 7 mixed Doubles titles in his career. Stolle was also a member of the Australian Davis Cup in the years 1964, 1965 and 1966. Stolle is also known to coach the great tennis player Vitas Gerulaitis from 1977 to 1983. Currently Stolle serves as a commentator for the sport on Fox Sports and Nine Network. His name has also been inducted in the International Tennis Hall of Fame in the year 1985.

US Open Winners and Runner-Ups (Male) – from 1969-1960

Rod Laver, US Open Winners and Runner-Ups Male, from 1969-1960

Read more..

Top ten male double tennis players with the most Australian Open titles

Top ten male double tennis players with the most Australian Open titles, Bob Bryan and mike Bryan

Tennis is an extremely versatile game due to the range of events it arranges every year. The tennis double tournaments are always looked forward to with enthusiasm by tennis fans. The doubles tournament are always very fast and exciting. Many single players also participate in the doubles championship and hold the grand slam titles as well. 

Like all the Grand Slams and other tennis tournaments, the Australian Open also entertains its fans every year by arranging the double tennis tournament. Due to the new surface in the Australian Open, Plexicushion Prestige, the consistency and speed of the game has increased which makes the tennis double matches much faster and more interesting. In year 2010, famous male tennis players Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan won the double tennis tournament for the second consecutive year. The famous Brian Brothers have been pretty consistent with their wins in the double championships. 

The top ten male double tennis players with most Australian Open titles list is:

1)      Adrian Quist & John Bromwich

2)      Rod Laver & Robert Mark

3)      Fabrice Santoro & Michael Llodra

4)      Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan

5)      Mark Edmondson & Kim Warwick

6)      D.P. Turnbull & Adrian Quist

7)      John Bromwich & Adrian Quist

8)      Bob Hewitt & Fred Stolle

9)      Rick Leach and Jim Pugh

10)   John Hawkes & Gerald Patterson

As you go through the list, you will notice one name dominating. Adrian Quist has been the one man who is leading the Australian Open doubles even now. Let’s see if the Bryan brothers make it to Quist’s record.