Top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open Tennis titles

Top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open tennis titles

Greatest female tennis player Margaret Smith Court has ruled the female Australian Open world, winning 11 titles for her native country, Australia. Even then, the United States of America is leading the title run of female Australian Open titles. One strange fact about this Grand Slam is that famous female tennis player Martina Navratilova of the USA, who was known to rule the tennis world, won only 3 titles in the Australian Open. However, many tennis players from the USA have been able to make names for themselves in the Australian Open event. The present winner of the Australian Open women’s title is Serena Williams, who also won the doubles tournament in the Australian Open 2010, hence making America’s rule inevitable. Here is the list of top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open titles:

1)      United States (15 titles)

2)      Australia (10 titles)

3)      Germany (4 titles)

4)      Yugoslavia (3 titles)

5)      Czech (2 titles)

6)      Switzerland (3 titles)

7)      Russia (1 title)

8)      Belgium (1 title)

9)      Britain (1 title)

10)   France (2 titles)

Famous female tennis player Serena Williams of the USA is in her full swing and performance which indicates bright chances of America ruling the female Australian Open title for many years to come. William sisters have shown tremendous potential at the hard court and have owned the Australian Open with their exclusive play. America is known for producing the best of tennis players. Every era had a leading American tennis player which now includes Serena and Venus Williams. Although Serena is having a rough time with her fitness and injuries but she is still managing to be extremely competitive and challenging the opponents with her aggressive play. 

Famous female tennis players: Kim Clijsters

Famous female tennis players: Kim Clijsters

Famous female tennis player Kim Clijsters is a former world number one professional tennis player from Belgium. Currently, she has been ranked at number 2 by the Women’s Tennis Association. Kim has won forty one WTA titles in singles and eleven titles in doubles. Kim has also won WTA tour championship in 2002 and 2003. She has won 2005 and 2009 US Open singles titles. She has also won doubles titles at Wimbledon and the French Open in 2003. She has been a runner up at the Australian Open once and at the French Open twice in singles competition.

On the 6th May, 2007 she announced her retirement with immediate effect and made a comeback after two years on the 26th March, 2009 when she declared her intention of returning to world tennis. In only her third tournament after her comeback, she won the US Open title in 2009 which made her the only unseeded and wildcard player to win a tournament. She became only the second mother to win the major title. Due to her persistent performance in year 2010, she was awarded WTA Player of the Year Award (second time) only after the following year when she received the Come Back Player of the Year Award.

Kim Clijsters is known for her powerful and deep ground strokes and her court coverage with the fast footwork and athleticism. She is one of the few players who can play on any kind of tennis playing surface. One top tennis player stated in 2005 that Kim’s strength is in her strength to play an extra shot that can devastate the game of an opponent.

Dubai Tennis Championships

Dubai Tennis Championships

. This tournament organises both men’s as well as women’s tennis championships and is the brainchild of H.H.Sheikh Mohammad bin Rashid Al Maktoum who is the Vice-President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and the ruler of Dubai. For over a period of five years the tournament saw a complete dominance on the men’s as well as the women’s front. Roger Federer won the Dubai Tennis championship for a consecutive period of 5 years from 2003-07 while Justine Henin from Belgium did the same in the women’s championships. Last year saw a different set of winners, Andy Roddick and Elena Demetieva doing the honours. This year saw a different set of winners as well with Novak Djokovic stealing the limelight in the men’s tourney while Venus Williams saw off the challengers to win the women’s leg. The Dubai Tennis tournament is one of the most important tennis tournaments in the world because of the high prize money that attracts a lot of high-ranked players from all over the world.