Winner of Australian Open 2011 women’s singles title- Kim Clijsters

Kim Clijsters, Australian Open Winner Female 2011

Australian Open 2011 women’s singles title has been a very special event as famous female tennis player Kim Clijsters won her first ever Australian Open women’s title and Li Na, the opponent of Kim Clijsters in Australian Open 2011 finale, was the first Chinese player to reach the finals of any grand slam. The Belgian tennis star Kim Clijsters won her first Australian Open title by defeating China’s Li Na by fighting back into a thrilling match. Kim lost the first set to Li who clinched the first set 6-3. But later on Kim Clijsters fought back bravely and claimed the second set. Although second set turned out to be very competitive for both the players. In second set, Li again took the lead by 3-2 but Clijsters leveled the game and claimed the second set. With this come back, Kim Clijsters got much needed confidence and won the third and deciding set 6-3. The finale of Australian Open 2011 women’s singles event thrilled the spectators and ended the first grand slam of the year 2011.

Many of you might not that it was Kim’s fourth Grand Slam title in her successful tennis career. She announced her retirement in 2007 but made her way back in 2009. It was in 2009 that she bagged US Open 2009 Championship title, only to become the first seeded player and wildcard to win the grand slam title. Kim Clijsters also became first mother to have won a Grand Slam title after Goolagong in 1980. In June 2001, Kim Clijsters was named in the “30 Legends of Women’s Tennis: Past, Present and Future” feature of TIME.

Top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open Tennis titles

Top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open tennis titles

Greatest female tennis player Margaret Smith Court has ruled the female Australian Open world, winning 11 titles for her native country, Australia. Even then, the United States of America is leading the title run of female Australian Open titles. One strange fact about this Grand Slam is that famous female tennis player Martina Navratilova of the USA, who was known to rule the tennis world, won only 3 titles in the Australian Open. However, many tennis players from the USA have been able to make names for themselves in the Australian Open event. The present winner of the Australian Open women’s title is Serena Williams, who also won the doubles tournament in the Australian Open 2010, hence making America’s rule inevitable. Here is the list of top ten countries to win the most female Australian Open titles:

1)      United States (15 titles)

2)      Australia (10 titles)

3)      Germany (4 titles)

4)      Yugoslavia (3 titles)

5)      Czech (2 titles)

6)      Switzerland (3 titles)

7)      Russia (1 title)

8)      Belgium (1 title)

9)      Britain (1 title)

10)   France (2 titles)

Famous female tennis player Serena Williams of the USA is in her full swing and performance which indicates bright chances of America ruling the female Australian Open title for many years to come. William sisters have shown tremendous potential at the hard court and have owned the Australian Open with their exclusive play. America is known for producing the best of tennis players. Every era had a leading American tennis player which now includes Serena and Venus Williams. Although Serena is having a rough time with her fitness and injuries but she is still managing to be extremely competitive and challenging the opponents with her aggressive play. 

Famous male tennis players: Rafael Nadal

Famous male tennis players: Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal is currently ranked world number two Spanish player in the world of tennis who has won 10 grand slams in his career to date out of which he owns 6 French grand slam titles, equalling Borg record. Rafael Nadal was formerly number one player from August, 2008 to July, 2009. He lost his number one spot because of injuries so he could not play certain big tournaments. But he came back very strong and regained his No. 1 spot after winning grand slams. Rafael Nadal was the only player to hold simultaneous clay court Grand Slams for which he was awarded the name of “The King of Clay”.

Rafael Nadal has won a total of six Grand Slams, the 2008 Olympic gold medal and was the part of the Spanish team that won the Davis Cup in year of 2004 and 2009. He has one Australian Open title (2009), five French Open titles (2005 to 2008 and 2010) and two Wimbledon title (2008 and 2010) in his kitty.

Nadal has a habit of playing an aggressive and behind the baseline game which is heavily founded on top spin ground shots, good footwork, consistency, speed and persistent court coverage. Nadal also has fine drop shots in his bag that wins him quite a good number of points because of his heavy topspin shots that pulls his opponents to the back of the court. Even though Nadal is seldom a volley player, he becomes good a volley player when he plays from the net.

After the rivalry of Nadal and Roger Federer for a long while, the trend changed and now Novak Djokovic is having the flavor of wins against Nadal. Djokovic took almost every title in the year of 2011 and is still in the winning streak which has made Nadal to lose his World No. 1 rank. Nadal is also facing some injury issues and the rumors are that he might end up switching is sports profession completely if failed to recover. 

Famous tennis players: Novak Djokovic

Famous tennis players: Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic is a professional tennis player who is currently ranked at number three in the world of tennis. The first and the only Grand Slam win by this tennis ace was the Australian Open title in 2008. He beat world number one Roger Federer in the semi final and then went on to beat Tsonga to claim the Australian Open title. In addition to this tally, Djokovic has won the ATP World tour title and has also won the bronze medal in the 2008 Olympics. He was a runner up in the 2007 US Open. He is the youngest Serbian to win a Grand Slam and the youngest ever in history of tennis to reach the final of all the Grand Slams.

Novak Djokovic finished No.3 at the ATP ranking for the third straight year in 2009. Novak won five ATP World Tour titles in year 2009. Novak Djokovic became the first player to finish No. 3 in three straight years since Mats Wilander. Novak ended up as a runner-up in four ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments with a win-lose of 33-8 which is a record in Masters 1000 events.

In year 2010, Novak Djokovic was able to finish No. 3 by appearing in quarter finals of all the Grand Slam tournaments and winning two ATP World Tour titles. Novak was also ranked No. 2 for 26 weeks during the 2010 tennis session.

In year 2011, Novak Djokovic performed extremely well by winning all six tournaments. For this reason, Novak Djokovic has the opportunity to claim the No. 1 spot on South African Airways ATP Ranking. All Djokovic needs is to win the upcoming Internazionali BNL d’ Italian in Rome by dethroning World No. 1 tennis players, Rafael Nadal.

Djokovic is an overall court player with an emphasis on the offensive baseline playing style. The best strokes of Djokovic are his services, defenses and ground strokes. He is consistent in playing off both wings but the most preferable stroke is his backhand. The player has a major open of his service which wins him many free points. He prefers a flat first serve and then to slice the second service wide of the court. He also has a disguise drop shot in his kitty that has won him many points in his career.