History of Wimbledon

by on September 18, 2010
in Grand Slam: Wimbledon


Vintage and prestigious are the words that could be used for the oldest tennis tournament, Wimbledon. The championship has been played in All England Club since 1877 and is the most happening tournament of summer. Wimbledon has been retained in its real essence by allowing the games to be played on original grass surface since the beginning. The tournament entertains the audiences for two weeks, starting in late June and ending in early July. The unique feature of this tournament is that it starts on a Monday and ends on Sunday.This pattern has been the same since the start of Wimbledon.The main events are of Wimbledon are Gentlemen’s singles (128 draw), Gentlemen’s Doubles (64 draw), Ladies singles (128 draw), Ladies doubles (64 draw) and Mixed doubles (48 draw)

Till now, 124 Gentlemen’s Singles Championships have been played in Wimbledon while 116 belong to the category of the Ladies’ Singles Championships which were added in 1884. Even though Wimbledon is a British tournament, it used to be ruled by the American legendary player, Pete Sampras. He won seven Wimbledon titles. As for women, M. Navratilova, with her elegant and tremendous play, won nine Wimbledon titles. Wimbledon is the tournament which is now discussed in the context of entertaining people with the never ending 11 hours 5 minutes match spread over three days in 2010 Championship. It was the longest match ever played in the history of tennis. The epic combat took place between Isner and Mahut who played 70-68 games in the fifth set. Interestingly, the aces world record was also set in this match where John Isner stroke 112 aces.

Wimbledon has been offering much excitement due to the rivalry of King Federer and Nadal. Let’s see who proves to be the next King of Wimbledon !

Longest Final Match of Wimbledon

Federer vs Nadal, Longest Final Match of Wimbledon

The dramatic, interesting, sensational and thrilling match between Rafael Nadal (Spain) and Roger Federer (Switzerland) in 2008 Wimbledon final made a historical record of being the longest match. The exciting and aggressive match lasted for 4 hours and 48 minutes.

The match started with Federer’s serve. The first set consisted of 10 games and ended up with Nadal winning by 6-4. Nadal won the second set by 6-4, too. There had been 20 games so far. The third set consisted of 13 games that Federer won by 7-6. Between the 9th and 10th game of the third set, the match was stopped for 30 minutes due to rain. New 13 games were played in the fourth set which Federer won by 7-6 again. Now the game was at an exciting stage. There was 2-2 set point tie between both the players. The fifth set was the longest during the match, as 17 games were played. During the fifth set, between the 5th and the 6th game, Nadal and Federer stopped playing for 30 minutes again due to rain. Nadal won the set by 9-7, thus winning the 2008 Wimbledon final.

Through that victory, Nadal became the first man to win French Open and Wimbledon tournaments after Björn Borg did in 1980. Nadal became also the first Spanish to win the Wimbledon title for his country after Manolo Santana did it in 1966.

Losing the game cost Federer 40 consecutive victories record at All England Club and 65 consecutive victories on grass record too. Federer admitted this to be his hardest loss, but at the same time he admired Nadal and said that he deserved the victory because he played “fantastically”.

Grand Slam: Wimbledon

Grand Slam: Wimbledon

Think of the game Lawn Tennis and Wimbledon is the first name that comes to your mind. The most esteemed tournament was first held in 1877 in the London suburb of Wimbledon at the All England Club. The game is played on grass and that’s from where the game lawn tennis got its name. The game sees men’s and ladies singles and doubles matches along with mixed doubles. You also get to enjoy boys and girls singles and girls doubles in the tournament.

1877 witnessed the only Gentlemen’s singles event won by Spencer Gore followed by the addition of Ladies singles in 1884, won by Maud Watson. The following years saw the addition of other events like Gentleman’s doubles, Mixed doubles etc. In 2009, Roger Federer grabbed his 6th Wimbledon and 15th Grand Slam title. Venus Williams was defeated by her sister Sarena Williams for the 3rd time. Wimbledon 2010 will be held from 21st June – 4th July. Each year sees a change for the benefit of players and audience. To prevent any match delays due to rain, the Centre Court has recently been fitted with a retractable roof. In 1979, the roof of the court was raised one meter to make space for 1,088 seats.

Warm up tournaments are held in Birmingham, Eastbourne and the Netherlands. The main principal court is surrounded by four other courts, hence the name Center Court. You have to experience it to believe the tradition of eating cream and strawberries, drinking with royal patronage and Pimms sprinters at Wimbledon. Wimbledon is incomplete without them – British twins Ernest and William Renshaw, Doherty brothers, Laurie and Reggie, Arthur Gore and Fred Perry, Jean Borota, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet and Rene Lacoste, Pete Sampras and Goran Ivanisevic and many more.