Left-handed/Oldest men/women champions of Australian Open singles title

Australian Open tennis

Left-handed people are often referred as left geniuses. As far as research has shown, left-handed people are commonly the highest achievers. This is due to the fact that the way their brain is structured helps in widening their abilities. Left-handed people have not only been successful in arts or mathematics but many prominent names in the field of sports are also left-handed. From cricket to tennis, left-handed players have set records. In the Australian Open, many left-handed men/women tennis players performed extremely well and claimed the Australian Open Singles title. Here are the famous left-handed men/women tennis players who won the Australian Open singles titles:

Best Left-handed Australian open men’s singles title winners:

1)      Horace Rice (1907)

2)      Norman Brookes (1911)

3)      John Hawked (1926)

4)      Mervyn Rose (1954)

5)      Rod Laver (1960,1962,1969)

6)      Jimmy Connors (1974)

7)      Guillermo Vilas ( 1978,1979)

8)      Roscoe Tanner (1977)

9)      Petr Korda (1998)

Left-handed Australian Open women’s single title winners:

1)      Martina Navratilova (1981, 1983, 1985)

2)      Monica Seles (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996)

Oldest men/women champions of Australian Open titles (singles and doubles)

Human propensity always allows it to revive its energy and perform at its best before exiting in any field. It all depends on the determination and passion to bring success for a person even at the oldest age. The case is the same with sports which allow every player to renew his or her passion and energy. In this revival, many players set records for all times to come. Tennis has been one such platform for many best tennis players who, even after taking long breaks during their playing career, made a comeback and set records. The Australian Open is also one such Grand Slam where the oldest tennis players made absolutely stunning comebacks and won the Australian Open championship. Here are the oldest men/women tennis champions of Australian Open titles in Singles and Doubles tournaments:

1)      Oldest male tennis champion of the Australian Open men’s single title is Ken Rosewall (37 years, two months) in year 1972

2)      Oldest female tennis champion champion of the Australian Open women’s title is Thelma Long (35 years, eight months) in year 1954

3)      Oldest male tennis champion of the Australian Open men’s doubles title is Norman Brookes (46 years, two months) in year 1924

4)      Oldest female tennis champion of the Australian Open women’s double titles is Thelma Long (37 years, seven months) in year 1956

Share Your Thoughts