The International Tennis Federation

by on April 3, 2009
in General Information

The International Tennis Federation

The ITF is an international body for the governing of all the tennis associations from all over the world. It came into existence in 1913 when an association was formed by twelve groups, called the International Lawn Tennis Federation. Originally based in Paris, the ITF tennis base moved to London during the Second World War II. It further got a name change in 1977 when the people over at ITF tennis realised the that all tennis is not played on grass and that the name was a misnomer. The offices and the funds of the same were shifted from Paris to London during World War II, from where it has continued to remain functional to this day. Its achievements are recognised in the annual event which is known as the ITF Year. 

It has grown in status and magnitude over the years and it currently has a membership of 205 tennis associations from all over the world. It is the leading governing body for all tennis that is played internationally. It organises a variety of tournaments over a year, namely the four Grand Slams- the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open. Apart from these, it also holds national team competitions which include the Davis Cup, The Hopman Cup and the Fed Cup, for men, mixed and for women respectively. The ITF tennis is also primarily responsible for the maintenance of an under-18 junior tennis player’s circuit, both for boys as well as girls.


2 Responses to “The International Tennis Federation”
  1. GarykPatton says:

    Hello. I think the article is really interesting. I am even interested in reading more. How soon will you update your blog?

  2. MairaS says:

    Thanks for your interest! Keep visiting!

Share Your Thoughts