Winner of most French Open consecutive men’s singles titles

by on June 2, 2010
in Grand Slam: French Open

Nadal and Borg, Winner of most French Open consecutive men's singles titles

Hey! He won it again? He defended his title. He is a class. He is a Clay King. Ever heard these jargons around? Definitely yes. Winning the four Grand Slams of the year alone is worth appreciating but keeping a consistent performance in one of the Slam events sure requires a talent which very few players have. When it comes to clay, things get tough for the players as the friction clay produced for the ball makes it harder to play big serves and extra effort is required in it.

Garros is the only event which does not have a tie-break in the last set and players have to play games unless they break off serve. So winning such a tournament consecutively is quite an achievement. Let’s have a flashback to know who are those legendary players that have won the Garros title consecutively the most.

Era before 1968

Before the year 1968, Garros title has been won consecutively by four players and those are:

• Frank Parker won in two consecutive years of 1948 and 1949.
• Jaroslav Drobny won the two consecutive titles in years 1951 and 1952
• Tony Trabert won the two titles in years 1954 and 1955
• Nicola Pietrangeli claimed the two Garros titles in years 1959 and 1960.

Era after 1967

The era after 1967 on Garros has been pretty much for Bjorn Borg who won four consecutive titles in years 1978, 1979, 1980, and 1981. Boy, oh boy! He sure is a legend.

After Bjorn, the only player to claim the Garros title the most times consecutively is Rafa who has been called the King of Clay in the present time. He won the consecutive titles in years 2005, 2006, 2007, and 2008.

The young lad skipped the year 2009 due to injury or he might have broken the records of Bjorn by winning fifth consecutive Garros title. But Nadal still has time to make new records and rock the clay court.

Three cheers for these legendary players!

Most men’s singles titles winners on Roland Garros

Most men's singles titles winners on Roland Garros, Nadal and Borg

While Garros 2010 is becoming thrilling day by day, sneak peak in to the past legendary players sounds tempting. Many of the new tennis stars are making new records or leveling the existing ones. The prominent names in the battle of conquering the new records are Roger and Nadal. In Garros 2010, both the players have ample records in basket for them. Few of them have been set and few are still to be conquered. The battle on beautiful clay is heating up!

To cool down the heat, why not have a flash back into the legendary players who have been rocking the Garros land with their marvel drop shots, serves, back hand, fore hand, aces and celebrating styles. So come along and have a flashback.

Men since 1981 have been performing at their best and few names have been recorded in the history with their never ending glory. One such category is the maximum titles won by men on Garros. The era starts since 1981 and goes like:

Winner of most men’s singles titles

Before 1925 on Garros

Before 1925, it was Max Decugis who won eight Garros titles from 1903-1914. But the French Open had a club level and the event never opened for the armature players.

From 1925-1967 on Garros

During this time, Henri Cochet won 4 Garros titles which also included the World Hard Court Championship.

After 1967 on Garros

After 1967 till date, only Bjorn Borg has been able to claim 6 Garros titles. Borg has been called the King of Clay for that reason.

You might be wondering that who could break the record of Bjorn Borg and become the Clay King of this generation. Of course it’s none other than Rafa who has already claimed 6 Garros Grand Slam titles and equal to Bjorn. 

Mystery of the Clay

Mystery of the Clay

Tennis history is full of eminent names and great games. Players come and go leaving behind there traces of success and defeat. However, the enigma of red clay at the Roland Garros is still the same since the first day and is still a hard nut to crack. It has some unusual characteristics which keep the players perplexed and all the time test their skills and grandeur. Unlike grass courts, the clay court never gives a second chance to the players to recover once they lost their technique to meet the standards of this court. The French Open is one such competition with big guns like Sampras, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors and Roger Federer who have never won their victory caps as they have never won any French Open in their awe-inspiring histories of Grand Slams. They loved Wimbledon, they enjoyed US Open and Australian Open, but the French Open has always remained a dream for them that that has never come true.

Unlike the grass courts, the game at Roland Garros is all about exhibiting stamina and strength and as to how long a player can hold himself to play on clay. Once he or she is worn out, the game can go to an opponent in the blink of an eye. Players with stamina always win the laurels at the French Open. However, for those who lack resilience, the French Open is just a fascination for them.

Grand Slam: The French Open tennis tournament

Grand Slam: The French Open tennis tournament

One of the major tennis tournaments which are played in the beautiful city of Paris, France, is the French Open. It is one of the tournaments which is covered under the Grand Slam tourney and is played over a period of two weeks from mid-May until the beginning of June. The French Open is the second Grand Slam in tthe calendar year and it comes after the Australian Open which is played in January. The French Open is the most popular of all the Grand Slam events and enjoys a huge viewership among all the other Grand Slams. A reason for this might be the fact that it considered by many as the most grueling and taxing of the tennis tournaments.

The French Open is played on clay courts which are slower than hard courts. This leads to more hard-work for the players as they have to make their own pace for the ball to travel. The current world no.2 Rafael Nadal enjoys his tennis out here as is evident from the fact that he has been the reigning champion for the last four years in a row. An interesting bit of history tells us that for a period of 3 years from 1945-1947, the French Open was played after Wimbledon, making it the third Grand Slam of the year.

« Previous Page